Celtic Imaginings

3595

 

“It is never too late to be what you might have been.”

~George Eliot

 

 

   metaltriskelion

“When Welsh King Pwyll saw the hill of Arerth, his men told him:  “If anyone of royal blood sits here, he will either receive a blow or see a marvel.”

“I will take my chances,” replied Pwll and sat on the hill.

All at once, a woman on a pale horse, wearing a robe of gold brocade rode slowly toward them.  Pwll sent a man to find out who she was.  He followed her on foot, but, though she rode slowly, he was unable to catch up with her.  Then he fetched his horse and chased after her, but still he was unable to catch her. 

The next day, they returned to the hill and again the woman appeared.  This time, the man followed her on the fastest horse they had, yet he was still unable to catch up with her. 

The following day, Pwll followed her himself, but finding her, again, just out of reach, he called out, “Lady please stop!” 

Immediately, she reined in her horse, turned toward him, and threw the veil from her head.  Pwll thought he had never in his life seen a more beautiful face.

“What is your name?” he asked.

“Rhiannon,” she replied.

“And what is your errand?”

“I have come because of my love for you.” she said.

Song of Rhiannon

http://ofearna.us/art/lee-alan.html

4 responses to “Celtic Imaginings

  1. Cool. That is a great beginning. I don’t know this mythology at all. Are you going to continue this story? She must be the marvel his men told him about. Or perhaps the blow as well? It’s beautifully written, too.

    Hi Paul – Apparently, Rhiannon is a queen archetype. Pwll, having pursued this beauty, is akin to an explorer surveying and charting Terra Incognita. Another Grail story in some form, I suppose. Thanks for stopping by! My apologies for my delay in commenting back – I’ve had to thaw my body out in order to do so (winter sucks).

  2. Loved it and loved the pic also! Beautiful! Was the lady waiting to hear the words of King? I am curious to know what happens next……

    Hi Neilina – Thank you for your comments. I loved the painting too…it has a very lovely, ethereal quality to it. As far as the ending goes…I guess it would only be fair to have Rhiannon answer that question.

  3. lovely..
    The blending of time and space dear muse–archaic memory, half story, half truth, ancient symbols with dreams in between—
    In this labyrinth are the cosmic springs of life…

    Mistress of life.

    Hi Song – The Labyrinthine Mythology is a place of mystical symbols isn’t it? It certainly is a journey to explore these archetypes from time to time. I’m thankful for your thoughtful comments.

  4. Merry Christmas dear Muse!!

    miss you,

    love

    song

    Happy belated Christmas Song, and a Merry and Joyful New Year to you. I hope you are doing well. I had a relaxing, albeit quiet Christmas and look forward to hearing more of your chirps this year.

Leave a comment