The Perfect French Toast Recipe

Have you ever wondered what to do with that rock hard baguette lurking in your pantry?  You know, the soft one that you bought for the wine and cheese social, that now mocks you with a dry and rigid salute.  Now, you don’t have to worry about turning that huge breadstick into breadcrumbs – you can make French Toast with it (I tried this about a year ago and I rave about the quality of the french toast everytime).  There probably is a point at which I would give up on the bread – if it is super stale and dry and nasty, I would toss it – I am talking about bread that is only a few days old here.

This is how I attack the situation [aka “The How-To Bit”].  I cut the bread on an angle (in about 1″ thick slices).  I make the batter with about 2 cups of milk, and 3 eggs (if you like your toast a bit sweeter, like this Muse does, I tend to add a tablespoon or so of sugar and about 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon).  Whisk this up and set your pan (medium high heat).  The egg and milk mixture soaks quite readily into the bread, so don’t let it sit too long before throwing it into the pan.  This toast (because of the perfect “crust” to “soft middle” ratio) holds it’s shape quite well after frying.  Sift a little powdered sugar on top and you have a magical breakfast.  Oh!  Don’t forget the maple syrup too, that’s crucial.  I also like to make fresh berry sauces for dipping as well (or you can use whatever preserves or jam you have for extra yumminess). 

 ps.  I always thought this would make the perfect “Bed and Breakfast” recipe….Someday, I will have to use it expressly for that purpose.  Enjoy your breakfast!

-Poseidon’s Muse

Leave a Reply

