And Sedna Spoke…

This Mermaid has been recuperating from two days of birthday preparation and celebration (the Carrot Cake was a hit too, thank goodness!).  Now I am in a state of “Post-Party Shambala” – resting, relaxing and recuperating (and it feels fantastic!).  Perhaps it’s the lime and mint water that adds to this refreshing state (that’s alot of “r’s”).  [grin].  Anyways, now that I’m feeling energized, it’s time to spread my love around “Bloggy Land.”

So I picked up an interesting set of cards the other day – the “Goddess Guidance Oracle Card” deck by Doreen Virtue.  It’s a very beautiful set of cards that allow people (men and women alike) to discover the healing power of various (world) goddesses (ah, the “sacred feminine”).  As I sat on my sunny patio yesterday, I drew a few cards:

Abundantia – “The Universe is pouring it’s abundance out to you.  Be open to receiving.” This fair lady is the roman goddess of prosperity, wealth and abundance (time, support, generosity).  [hmm…obvious meaning.  I like this card].

Aine (pronounced Awn-ya) – “Take a risk and put your heart’s true action to desire.”  Aine is the Celtic Goddess and fairy queen who gave birth to incarnated fairies from her romances with mortal men.  In Ireland, this goddess sought to help grow crops.  She also oversees the well being of animals.  [Put your good intentions forth and the Universe will do the rest].

Sedna (pronounced Sed-nuh) – “You are supplied for today and all of your tomorrows.”  Sedna is the Inuit and Alaskan goddess of the sea who provides sustenance for the body and soul.  She is intimately connected to the ocean’s sea creatures (hmmm….sounds like someone I know!).  [Think of balance – giving and receiving.  Some of your projects may involve the ocean or sea….].

Wow.  What an excellent “reading”.  I must say that these cards are not only thought-provoking, but they are timeless and beautiful too.  If you are an oracle-seeker like myself, you may find these cards an enchanting addition to your collection (and if you are new to divinination techniques – this would be a friendly deck to start with).  Thanks Dr. Virtue!

Have a wonderful remainder of your weekend!

-PM

5 responses to “And Sedna Spoke…

  1. poseidonsmuse

    By the way – if anyone of my “regulars” is interested in a three card “reading” – we can certainly give it a try (I have about 15 years experience in divination techniques).

    Namaste

    -PM

  2. After years of soul-searching and God-searching, I came to the logical conclusion, about 5 years ago, that I am an atheist. Until recently, I’d purposely eschewed anything supernatural – god/devil/angels/demons/UFOs/miracles/faeries/etc., but lately have been feeling that there has to be an energy force greater than what we can currently explain through scientific means. I am loathe to call this force “God”, however, due to the negative actions man has employed in the name of one God or another. For now, I’m satisfied in thinking of it as The (So-Far) Unexplained Force. I’m a huge fan of the sacred feminine and feel that women (godesses in our own right) bring a positive, healing energy to the world. I don’t know if you’d feel comfortable giving me a reading, based on my belief (or anti-belief) system, but I’m open to the opportunity. It’s something I’ve never sought out before.
    email me back if you’d rather.

  3. Observant – I was raised in the Catholic faith. As a youngster, I found the mass quite beautiful and full of various “rituals” that made me feel “holy.” Then as I grew up, I realized that I could feel just as spiritual, if not more spiritual, (and grounded) in Nature (the forested woodlands and mountains became my “cathedrals”).

    Like you, I do not believe that it is necessary to give “The Awesome Presence” as Johnny Cash (bless his soul) put it, a name. In fact, I agree with you when you say that you believe humanity has convoluted the message of said prophets and holy people (“Whoever wins the wars, writes the history books” so to speak). For some people however, institutionalized religion is a necessity – and if they are better people for it, then so be it (but that’s certainly not the type of religion I ascribe to anymore).

    So, you could well imagine my grandmother’s reaction to my “Christmas Gift” of pagan tarot cards one year (a gift from my liberated mum!)! She nearly flipped a crucifix when she saw me laying out the Celtic Cross pattern on her kitchen table. Funny thing however, my grandmother was a very powerful healer, herbalist and naturopath. She was also clairvoyant (all of the makings of a Heretic if she was walking around a few hundred years ago!). Anyways, she was our matriarch and I think she was taken from this earth quite early to fulfill a larger role in the afterlife.

    My interest in spiritual divinitation has taken me to many different oracles – tarot, runes, and other cards. I use them as spiritual guidance only and seek only positive energy from them in the process. As I learn more about divination, I find that there are as many methods of divining as there are diviners (and each has their own quirks and preferences). I prefer to use an open minded approach to readings – and I typically (in the past) have only done them for people that I have been in physical contact with. Now, it might be time to try some “long-distance” stuff! So anyways, to make a long story short, I will give you a reading and send it to your e-mail account – if you want to post it on your blog – that would be great!

    Anyways – I should hit the hay! Thanks again for your comments!

    -PM

  4. I adore that set of cards and use them the most in my own readings and when I do readings for other people. A lovely first three cards you pulled too!
    I hope you and OB have a lovely cyber reading together 🙂 Much love to both of you, lovely Goddesses x

  5. poseidonsmuse

    Simonne – Aren’t they beautiful! Glad to hear that you consult the Sacred Feminine too!

    …by the way…you are a wonderful Goddess yourself!

    -PM

Leave a Reply

