Thoughts for Your Journey…

22617039.jpgΒ 

“But if you do not find an intelligent companion, a wise and well-behaved person going the same way as yourself, then go on your way alone, like a king abandoning a conquered kingdom, or like a great elephant in the deep forest.”

– Buddha

(photo credits)

5 responses to “Thoughts for Your Journey…

  1. πŸ™‚ thank you.

    This quote really inspired me today Grace, thanks for stopping by and dipping in that pool of inspiration with me…

  2. I got some books on buddhism and am starting to plug in to the serenity! So far, I likey. Nice picture & quote by the way – there’s something about elephants…

    I enjoy the tranquility and serenity that fills my soul when I read Buddhist literature. I am a fan of Thich Naht Hahn and dip into “Creating True Peace” on occasion. Another book that I am enjoying is “Saving Fish From Drowning” by Amy Tan (it is chock full of Buddhist symbolism…a very intense read). I enjoy elephants too…I have an affinity for Ganesh (the Hindu god of Obstacles)! Go Figure…!!!!

  3. ditto. πŸ™‚

    Hi Deb! πŸ˜‰

  4. Ooh, I love that. Here’s one that I use whenever it feels lonely on that path:

    The conditions of a solitary bird are five:
    The first, that it flies to the highest point;
    the second, that it does not suffer for company, not even of its own kind;
    the third, that it aims its beak to the skies;
    the fourth, that it does not have a definite color;
    the fifth, that it sings very soflty.

    -San Juan de la Cruz

  5. Pixie…I’ve missed my little fluttering Pixie. I thought that she might have left me for good. Ah! You are back with a beautiful poem for your Muse. Thank you Pixie, that is absolutely beautiful. Can I tell you a secret? I actually have dreams that I am a flying bird (these have to be the coolest dreams that I have!) – I guess that’s why I love your little poetic offering so much. I will treasure that love, thank you!

Leave a Reply

