On Writing…

I have taken the art of writing rather seriously since I was about the age of 7 or so.  Believe it or not, I actually recall writing a few meaningful pieces at that age (I just wish that we hadn’t lost some of this writing during our many moves).  I guess that is why I am so comfortable blogging.  For me, blogging is a means of expression.  It allows me to explore my literary creative angle in a real-time way.  It allows me to be silly, quirky, zany and entertaining (at least, I hope some of you find me entertaining).  It also allows me to be in contact with a few like-minded individuals that have decided to walk with me for a spell on my journey.  My blog space, is essentially an extension of my writing notebook and in a sense, my psyche.

Having said that, it is understood that a real person exists behind the words that are written within this blog.  It is my perogative to present this space as a caricature of myself and my environment.  I have neither the desire, or need to present my readers with the nitty gritty aspects of my life (for personal reasons – particularly those of privacy).  For those of you that take comfort in sharing details of your life with us in trust and good faith, I must thank you for that, but by no means do I want my words to be less valuable because I don’t offer the same intimate details of my life (and I think that this is understood to not be a concern…and if it is a concern…).  Also, it is my intent to present that part of myself to my readers that is quite important – and that is the person that I am evolving into (regardless of my past circumstances).  For me, personal evolution is extremely important.  “Who are you becoming?” “What are your influences?” “What are your beliefs?”  I could fill up all of my pages with my scars, traumas, hurts and woes, but I don’t want to be reminded of these things on a daily basis when I open this space…It is enough for me to integrate these experiences into my present person, accept them, own them and move on, hopefully inspiring others as I go.

So that’s a bit of me in a nutshell.  I am not an enigma.  I am just a deeply private person that is trying to make some meaningful contact with people that want to take the time to get to know me (and vice versa).  I think we all place ourselves in a position of being judged every single time we make a post, and this very act makes us vulnerable to the criticisms and assumptions of others.  Hopefully, through our words, we can attract similar minded people to share along in our journeys.  I for one, am very fortunate to have met some very wonderful people from my writing.  For a time, we are part of one another’s journeys, we don’t know how long we will have with one another, but for now, we should be happy that we can be of influence and support one another.  We choose to be part of this community because we all have one thing in common.  We can write and express ourselves with the written word.  Some of us do it because we/they are writers, while others do it for the aspect of shared humanity.  Regardless, we are making the choice to share ourselves with others…and we do this in good faith everytime we open that Dashboard and click on “Write.”

-PM

6 responses to “On Writing…

  1. I enjoy your blog so much. You are wonderfullly entertaining, thought provoking, inspiring and very funny. For a private person, you share quite a bit of your soul and that’s where we’re all similar isn’t it?
    I’m the queen of TMI amongst my friends, it’s just part of who I am. I’m relatively new to the blogging world. I should probably learn to tone that down.
    It is only recently that I changed the permissions on my blog to allow anyone in. I have been blessed and inspired by reading your blog and I thank you for letting me in.
    I refuse to be judged by my blog. If there are unspoken rules and expectations about blogging, then I’ll go back to keeping it priviate, because I write for me, period. I guess I think if you don’t like it or me, then move along…geesh. I don’t mean to sound so harsh, but I’ve been stumbling upon a lot of blog drama the last couple of weeks. It truthfully took me by surprise. Who Knew?

    Hi Doll! Thank you so much for your honesty. To be truthful, that’s why I wrote this post. I just wanted people to be sure of where I was coming from too. I really am non-judgemental person myself, but feel as though I have hit a few walls lately (both in my personal and blogging life). Perhaps, these are perceived walls (or perceived drama or whatnot), but in any case, I needed to address my purpose and intention here. I have been honoured to have your presence in my life too V (you should not even question that). You are a consistent source of good humour, wit, and inspiration for me as well. And, I’ll be honest…in my real life, I am the queen of TMI too…I don’t think we should change how we post or what we write about etc. because that is who we are. So, please don’t change!!!!! I’m like you in that regard…I blog for me first, and if my readers don’t enjoy my words…well….yes…there is an alternative. Everyone is beautiful “as is” to me anyways. It seems as though many people are feeling the cyclic change that the month of August is bringing, hence the frustration. We all have our moments. Estrogen or not. Enough said!

    Ride the wave of experience is all I have to say…Stay tolerant, open-minded and LAUGH A LITTLE!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Love ya Babe!

  2. I’m so out of words – thank you is all I have today…along with I love you.

    Ruby Love…My doll in red shoes. I love you too Babe. You inspire me daily. You light my world with your fire. We need you. I need you. XOXO

  3. Great post sweetie pie! This is the absolutely best part of blogging – everybody has their own style. The flip side is that we all have to accept that we’re not all alike! Everyone’s comfort level is unique and Muse, your blogging style is just part of your wonderful self. It’s actually quite an interesting and completely different way of getting to know someone. I find it delightful.

    We are so cool.

    Thanks Gorgeous. You know, we are cool, aren’t we?! “WE” being the collective we that make up the “US”. We put the zing in Miracle Whip, I tell yah. Darn, we should have a Goddess appreciation day soon. Wadya think Roobs…you in?! Anyone have any ideas?! xoxo

    ps. And Anthony, although you are all man, that means you too!

  4. I might have to skip it – I think I fell outta grace and I just feel in shreds.

    I just wanted once again to thank you all for being you.

    Please though: count me in on the no-drama zone – that’s why I started blogging – I thought I’d outrun that stuff and everyone in blogland was level-headed. 🙂

    Gosh Ruby. We all have our days. Thanks for being who *you* are. Our reactions and actions in life make us the colourful human beings that we are. As far as drama zones go…sometimes we have to clear the air and speak our peace so that our friends know where I headspace lies. It’s not always fun and games…sometimes it’s about feeling something, owning it, then releasing it into the air like a butterfly….We love you Ruby! The Goddess Gang just wouldn’t be the same without you!

  5. Hi PM,
    As an all man male, I thank you.
    There’s been quite a bit of soul searching about our blogging within the community. I don’t cover it all, but as far as I’m aware, it began for me with Ruby asking a question on my blog, which led to comments, which led to a post by me, which led to a post by you …
    … well, what does that tell us?
    It tells ME that writers communicate things, influence people, add to the world of thought – and through thought, to the world at large.
    There is no greater gift than writing. It shapes everything. And good writers attract readers.
    That’s why I’m here, on your blog.
    Keep it up.

    Well Hello Anthony, my “all man male!” I am so pleased that we have you in this blogging community (and that I get your witty comments on my site….it just wouldn’t be the same without you!). You are so right about the trickle effect of posting. The subconscious flowing amongst us some days has a rather heady flavour, doesn’t it?! Wow.

    Your comment about “thoughts” is absolutely bang-on too. As writers, I believe that bloggers do add to the world of thought, and ultimately, to the world at large. I believe that we challenge and inspire each other daily to ponder, question and add to that organic entity of our community with our thoughts and intentions. Words certainly have power…

    Thank you for reading and commenting on my site as you do…Like I said previously – my space just wouldn’t be the same without your presence…

  6. Great post Muse. I love coming to your space, as you know. Please don’t stop anywhere in the near future!
    Lots of love xxx

    Hi Gorgeous. Thanks for stopping by (I know you have been very busy with wedding preps, so having you drop be is a treat…to say the least!). I’m glad you enjoy stopping by and visiting. I have no intention of stopping anytime soon. Love ya girl!

Leave a Reply

