Habits of the Literary Inclined

My thanks to OB for inspiring me with a meme today.   So, without further adieu, here’s some notes on my literary habits: 

  1. What are you reading right now? The Final Confession of Mabel Stark by Robert Hough.  Just getting started here.  It’s a bit of a 3 ring circus!  Don’t laugh!  It truly is.  It’s about a Victorian era lion tamer that wears very pretty costumes…I won’t spoil the plot, but let’s just say that she made a tasty hors d’oeurve(s) for one of her “pets”. 
  2. Do you have any idea what you’ll read when you’re done with that?  One of the billion and one other books that I collect and shelf.  I must have 30 or so that I haven’t read yet.  Compulsive?!  Yes!  I would think so…
  3. What magazines do you have in your bathroom right now?  None.  But, if I did have magazines in my bathroom, they would likely be old copies of National Geographic.  There’s something to be said about scientific education in the loo.
  4. What’s the worst thing you were ever forced to read?  Gosh.  That would have to be King Lear.  Sorry Shakespeare (you made up for it with A Midsummer Night’s Dream though…thanks for that!).
  5. What’s the one book you always recommend to just about everyone?  The Da Vinci Code.  A little cliche, but I just couldn’t put the darned thing down.  That book and the Life of Pi by Yann Martel.  
  6. Admit it, the librarians at your library know you on a first name basis, don’t they?  In gradeschool and highschool, that would be a big “Yes!”  Now, I tend to buy all of my books from Chapters Indigo (online or in-store).  This gets expensive, but I am a bit of a self-confessed book whore (or pimp – not sure which one applies yet) and I have some crazy notion that I might have enough books to fill an entire home library one day.  Oh!  Wait a minute.  I DO have a large home library!  How did that happen?! 
  7. Is there a book you absolutely love, but for some reason, people never think it sounds interesting, or maybe they read it and don’t like it at all?  Ok.  This might sound bizarre, but I love field guides.  Handbook of the Canadian Rockies is a gem (by Ben Gadd).  Even if you are contemplating a trip to the wilds of the Canadian Rockies or a short excursion to a quaint mountain town, this is the book to get.  Fortunately, most people do find it interesting, even though it’s a field guide.  But, c’mon, how interesting can they [field guides] be?  [Wow!  Alot of fun, because this one is a blast!].
  8. Do you read books while you eat? While you bathe? While you watch movies or TV? While you listen to music? While you’re on the computer? While you’re having sex? While you’re driving?   Eat – occasionally.  Bathe – not so much anymore because I have caused many a book to “wrinkle” over the years from the humidity of my bathwater.  Sex – unless it’s a book on tantric sex or positions, NO WAY!  Even then – study BEFORE you slip into the sheets.  Unless of course, you and your partner are reading the book together, then that is an entirely DIFFERENT story!  Ok.  I digress.  Driving – what the?  NO!  Maps don’t count as books, do they?  So…NO!  However, I do have some audio CD’s (learning to speak a different language), but those don’t count! 
  9. When you were little, did other children tease you about your reading habits?  I think that the boys on the school bus would rather have preferred me to pay more attention to “them” than my delicious Little House on the Prairie series, so I would have to say “Yes” to this question.  Darn, those little guys used to pull my hair something fierce back in the day…
  10. What’s the last thing you stayed up half the night reading because it was so good you couldn’t put it down?  That would be my book on Tantra.  Sorry.  Just being honest.  Tantric Sex by Cassandra Lorius.  Read it for yourselves.  It is a really nice and classy introduction to the subject.  When I was a kid, I would have to say A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle.  This book left me breathless.  Reminds me that I should re-read this novel at some point.  Great story.

My thanks to OB for being brave (and fun) enough to have started this meme.  I’m not very good at playing tag…So, steal it and run with it, if you dare. 

Methinks you’ll have a good time if you choose to answer this quizzie thingie.

-PM

11 responses to “Habits of the Literary Inclined

  1. Hi PM,
    Reading habits, eh?
    Must begin on a raw point, though. The Da Vinci Code? I’m afraid I got bored after page 70 something. I know this is unfair, but I’ve researched the subject so much that I knew exactly where he was heading, which sort of ruined it for me.
    If I was to answer what I was reading at the moment, it would be a long list. I tend to have up to a dozen books on the go at once, including novels, classics, short story collections, biographies, unexplained encyclopedias, etc.
    It has to be a very good book for me to read straight through. Because of cfs I tend not to do anything when I read. If I try to multi-task in that way, I’m afraid the dizziness gets me.
    It’s one thing at a time in my world, I’m afraid.

    Just rescued this comment from Spamville Anthony…I should have dove in for it sooner….Ah! Rescued from the Nautilus Spam Machine…

  2. Tried posting this earlier, but not sure it got through. Something funny happened. So I’ll try again.

    Hi PM,

    Reading habits, eh?
    Must begin on a raw point, though. The Da Vinci Code? I’m afraid I got bored after page 70 something. I know this is unfair, but I’ve researched the subject so much that I knew exactly where he was heading, which sort of ruined it for me.
    If I was to answer what I was reading at the moment, it would be a long list. I tend to have up to a dozen books on the go at once, including novels, classics, short story collections, biographies, unexplained encyclopedias, etc.
    It has to be a very good book for me to read straight through. Because of cfs I tend not to do anything when I read. If I try to multi-task in that way, I’m afraid the dizziness gets me.
    It’s one thing at a time in my world, I’m afraid.

    Anthony! My Yorkshire friend! I know. Da Vinci Code is a bit banal, yes, considering the subject was long since researched and written about way back when (Holy Blood, Holy Grail by Baigent, Leigh and Lincoln), but I guess I can’t help that sensationalist, Hollywood side of myself (wow, that was one, very long run-on sentence – perhaps I should cut myself off from the Cab-Sauvignon this evening). You know, like you described, I also tend to find myself nursing many books too. Actually, I am nursing so many, I have lost count. Plus, I tend not to count the reference and history type texts that I read. Did I mention that I was reading the Voyage of the Beagle for the second time? Yeah, that kind of stuff. Anyways, if you strike upon a good read that you would like to share – drop me a line. I’m always looking for a winter book reading list. Fireside reading is the bomb.

  3. May I recommend “Ten Days with an Angel” to you?

    It is one that I found is very fascinating.

    Barnes and Noble has it online, or you can go to the authors website, michaelfcombs.com

    Thanks for your recommendations! I was looking for something new and different.

    Oooh! Mr/Mrs? Wordhound, I am absolutely smitten with your recommendation. Do you have a forwarding address? Hmmm…With a name like Wordhound, I’m sure you have alot of other fine literary recommendations. Anyways, thank you for that. I will research the book and give it a read. “Michael F. Combs, Michael F. Combs…..”. I’ve got to remember that name. The blurb on Amazon has my interest piqued too, I tell ya. Please drop by again soon!

  4. I had to immediately go to Amazon and read up on the Mabel Stark book. It’s going on the library list, yup.

    I’ll trade you one of The Terror for one Canadian Rockie field guide.

    When I was ill with strep throat at age 9, my mother brought home the first Little House book for me from the library and told me “I loved these books when I was your age” – at which time I promptly decided that they would be horrible. Much to my surprise (and my mother’s joy) I consumed every one of them.

    Ditto with you on Wrinkle. Did you know that Madeleine L’Engle died very recently?

    Tantric sex. Muse, you’ve always got your finger on the pulse!

    I shall read the Terror OB. With a name like The Terror, it would likely make for good peri-Halloween reading!!! Lol! I am such a nerd. Yes, the Little House books had me enthralled when I was a youngin’ too. I think I had a crush on Armando (was that his name? Laura’s childhood friend and SO to be?). Anyways…And, no, I did not know about Madeleine L’Engle. What a shame. That book made a real impression on my young imagination. Tantra, tantra, tantra. I should find that pulse – it would be rather fun to feel during a long, and very slow…ahem…(curtains drawn on that scenario!). Mmmm…Much to learn from this book too – highly recommended. I encourage all men to find their inner Shakti. Woo!

  5. Did Maureen get in touch w/you regarding the BOK? She should have emailed you regarding not being able to set you up due to a technical glitch w/your email address, etc. Message me if this makes absolutely no sense whatsoever.

    You know, I am able (as far as I know) to post on the BOK, for it shows up on my Dashboard. When I sober up and stop being such a lazy ass, I shall consider sliding my sexy mermaid self over to that site for a right proper posting. The only think I lack right now is inspiration – so if you have any ideas, please let me know. Your message makes sense too (believe it or not!). If I have any troubles posting or what have you, I will give you a nudge, wink or other such connotation! Wee hee! xoxo

  6. ideas oh sexy mermaid? i’ll email after dinner and a couple of bottles of merlot…seems to be when my head works best 😉

    Oh please do…Right now, I am about ready to nod off right on my keyboard…So tired today for some reason (three cups of coffee and one tipple of Earl Grey tea and I’m still feeling pacified…). Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz…

  7. Sounds like a fun quiz and it got me thinking about some of my preferences as well. Another thing, thanks for taking it and taking the time to answer and post it. It’s very telling and I’m always glad to hear about what people like reading or are reading or have read or reading habits –

    I love reading, books, and words. I liked Wrinkle in Time pretty good too and wish I could “tesser” (If I remember the spelling right?).

    Thanks too for the honesty.
    (I’ve missed but but am glad you’ve been happily busy.)

    Much love and peace.

    Thanks for your love Ruby! There is much to be said about a person’s tastes in books, that’s for sure. Honestly, my library selection runs the gamut from science and medicine to strange little field guides on insects and things. In between these bizarre bookends lie an assortment of fiction and non-fiction works. I am also a poetry nut and have started collecting poetic literature as well.

    Sounds like you have quite the library developing yourself! Would you be interested in giving me a few titles that you have read? I would like to know what type of books interest your mind?

    Yes. I have been busy, busy, busy. So busy, that I need to take extra special time to post and comment (like this morning…).

    Namaste love…xoxo

  8. Ooo, into the private reading world of the Muse! Love it! I couldn’t put DaVinci Code down either! But I hated the ending! My book that I adore but no-one is ever interested in is Ferney by James Long.
    Miss you Muse! Sorry I’ve been so quiet lately! Love you x

    Simonne! I have really missed your pretty face around ‘these parts…’ I know that you are busy and I hope that all is going well with you. Hmm…Ferney by James Long…sounds like an *amazing* read (to be quite honest)…. I think I will give that a go when I am finished reading about Mabel’s demise as a lion tamer. Thanks Simonne. I miss you too. Love you a bunch…xoxo

  9. What a fun post! I am also a book addict and love to hear what others are reading. Do you know about http://www.Goodreads.com? It’s the social networking site for book addicts. I am completely addicted to it (Gee, what a surprise…grin).

    Sending you lots of faery dust today and happy reading!

    Fellow Book Addicts Unite! Hi Laura! Glad to have you at the site. I will look into gooreads.com (now you really have piqued my interest! Oh! and Faery dust? Thank you! You certainly are a woman after my own heart. Sparkles and happy book-reading to you too Laura. Please feel free to drop by anytime…

  10. I haven’t time to read much lately. I’m home sick in bed so I have no exuse, but I can tell you that looking over at my night stand I have Douglas Adams – Mostly Harmless, Innocent When You Dream, Tom Waits, Tarot Made Easy -Garen, The Writer/Photogropher – John Milton and Hocus Pocus – Kurt Vonnegut. I guess I should actually pick one of them up and start reading….

    Wrinkle in Time was one of my favorites too, sadly
    Madeleine L’Engle passed away last week.

    Hi V! I’m sorry to hear that you are sick! I hope you start to feel better soon. As far as books go – thanks for the list! Sounds like quite the assortment of books on your nightstand. I also have quite the stack stashed there too…What is it with nightstands anyways? I’ve got alot of weird things on that nightstand (not what you think!)…including 5 or 6 books, my Russian stacking dolls, a lamp, a few different skin lotions and an LED book light (that clips to the books that I read at night). Weird huh? Anyways, Tom Waits’ voice is so raspy…he is one cool cat. I adore Milton’s photos. The one on the cover of that book is smashing. Yes. Heard about Ms. L’Engle the other day. What a shame. I am going to p/u ‘Wrinkle’ rather soon and read it again…

    Get well V! Thanks for stopping by. xoxo

  11. PM, Please remind me at a later date to list books on my shelves. I am swamped and exhausted tonight and gotta go out and face the world again tomorrow.

    Please remind me?? I love talking books.

    Peace and reading.

    Hi Love…Absolutely! I will remind you about your cherished book list…I hope you were able to energise yourself last night, so you could tackle today’s tasks. “Peace and reading”…I love that…There certainly is peace when one reads. Some faery dust (Laura Stamps style) for you today Roobs….[blown your way…on the breeze…]…

    .~*.~*.~*.~*

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

