Frustrations of the “New Novelist”

Powerpacked gigabytes of literary organisation and writing tips aside, I have one BEEF about the “New Novelist 2.0” program.  Whilst I am happily clicking away at character development, using my up and down arrow keys to insert my little quips here and there in various text boxes, my cursor decides to head on over to the sidebar and do some trolling of it’s own!  Once my cursor jumps out of it’s text box, it will end up in No-Man’s-Land.  My cursor starts clicking on major subheadings, and my whole screen blips to something else, thus, I end up losing my character quips (and some of these can be rather long, thoughtful and detailed).  I think I ended up writing the same thing for one character at least a dozen times.  Arg!  I find this completely frustrating.  I should also mention that I need to manually save my document too.  I do this rather frequently, especially now, after failed attempts at anchoring that darned cursor!  I am “cursed” with this cursor.

Oh, by the way…Speaking of No-Man’s-Land.  If anyone else types on a notebook computer, you may have this very same problem that I have recently encountered.  Does anyone else experience the Bermuda Triangle of Caps Lock, Shift and Control?  I don’t know how I manage to simultaneously hit these keys such that my text begins to write in CAPS and I have no control over normal punctuation.  I fumble randomly to click these keys in some bizarre (albeit reverse) order and I manage to fix it rather chaotically (but just haven’t figured out the appropriate, logical sequence for this yet?).  I wonder if I could spy any lodged ships or aircraft between the cracks of said keys of Bermuda Triangle CAPS Lock Doom…Perhaps that little wayward, trolling cursor of mine is in Cahoots with Captain Bermuda…? 

Hmm….Only time will tell…[200 pages to go…].

Happy Keyboard Pecking….

-PM

Oh…And here’s a little MUGSHOT of the OFFENDER….[grrrrrrrr…..]…Meet “Captain Bermuda” himself….[“Arrrr…..Lassie…Let me screw up your punctuation…!”]

180px-keyboard-left_keys.jpg

5 responses to “Frustrations of the “New Novelist”

  1. I have noticed that when I use my notebook while writing on WordPress, the cursor ends up in weird places on a regular basis. I think it must have something to do with their ‘autosave’ deal, but I have deleted whole sections of written material more than once. I obsessively save now, but it’s maddening! This does not happen with my PC however.

    Hi OB! Hmmmm…never had a wayward cursor on WordPress…but there’s a first time for everything! I’ll watch out for this while typing on WordPress in the future. Captain Bermuda is a bit of a bizarre fellow…he likes popping up in the least expected of places…xoxo

  2. Hell hath no fury than a recalcitrant cursor!

    Darn Tootin’ David! I couldn’t have said it better myself!

  3. How’s this for inspiration then, PM? Why not write a novel about writing a novel? You seem to be having so much fun with the technicalities.
    You could call it ‘Oh, Curses!’ … I mean ‘Cursor’.

    Witty, witty, witty! You know…that’s not a half-bad idea Anthony! “Newbie Novelist Tips for You” (don’t think it would be a bestseller, but “Hey, what the heck…” – weirder volumes have been published!). 😉

  4. I have the same trouble with my caps lock and shift key on my laptop and it’s maddening. I don’t know how to stop doing it and just try to not get too frustrated with it when it happens.

    Other than that, I’ve gotten very used to using my laptop. I had only been using the desktop for the last several years and been using the laptop just since springtime. You’d think I’d have figured out how to stop hitting the caps lock when I’m shooting for the shift key but NO.

    About the New Novelist – all I can say is I’m glad it’s you using it and not me. I’ve got my hands full as it is.

    Hoping you’re having some nice, peaceful quiet time. Much love.

    ~ RS ~

    Roobs! Glad to know I’m not the only one battling Captain Bermuda with my pinky finger. Perhaps I should sharpen the pinky nail of my left baby finger and wield it like a sword in the direction of this bizarre little zone. The shift key doesn’t stand a chance!

    I have been out of town for a few days and will return to regular “function” rather soon (sorry, couldn’t resist the pun). I truly am enjoying my quiet time. I hope you have been able to take some time out for yourself too Ruby.

    Love you. xoxo

  5. Heeeeeloooo Muse and OB!!! I’m so out of the loop!! Please forgive me my absence!
    Muse, I’m SO happy to hear that you’re writing a novel! Yay! I went back through recent entries here but couldn’t find a post about it – can you point me in the right direction? Is it fantasy? I’m so pleased for you – your writing deserves to be read by many many people 🙂
    Love you lots xxx

    Wow Kiddo! Missed you so much! How are the plans going? Are you starting to thaw from the Aussie deep freeze yet? I will blog a bit about the novel in a while, but I really can’t reveal too much just yet! Thanks for the compliments too, by the way. I am taking this task on as thought it is a joy, rather than a task. I just hope that mother “time” doesn’t conspire against me (oh, and father “energy” could give me a hand too…that would help). Love you Simonne. I will visit when I get settled back home from my travels…xoxo

Leave a Reply

