A Gulp of Fresh Air…

I have re-surfaced for a few gulps of fresh air – having spent nearly an entire week underwater at the CMC (Central Command Centre) that is comprised of a laptop, a desk, stacks of journals, papers and a myriad of other things to keep me energized (cue the handsome sea-horse carrying the silver tray adorned with chocolate and hot, steaming lattes).  Yes.  Sea-horses can be rather handsome!  This one’s name is “Mearle”, he’s about 8 inches tall (rather large for a starry-equine dude) and he’s quite the charmer…

My apologies for being a crumby blogger lately too.  I had meant to respond to everyone’s heart-felt comments to my post (you know which one)…but I got bogged down with work (and to be honest…I really felt rather speechless after what I had written…and surprised even myself with my candidness – go figure!).  Anyway, my life will resume some sense of normality in the next few weeks, but until then, expect a post or two when I do refresh my lungs with life-giving air (I might be a mermaid, but I still need my odd gulp of oxygen too!).

In the meanwhile, I have a wonderful poem to share with you.  Those of you who know me (even a little bit about me), know that I’m a bit of a risk taker.  I wear my heart on my sleeve (I always have), and that keeps me true to myself.  It might confuse some people and annoy others…but living fearlessly is something that I do.  I am also learning to love fearlessly too…and that takes alot of courage (for me).

Namaste my friends

***

“To laugh is to risk

appearing the fool.

To weep is to risk

appearing sentimental.

To reach out for another is to risk

involvement,

To expose feelings is to risk

exposing your true self.

To place your ideas, your dreams

before the crowd is to risk

their loss.

To love is to risk

not being loved in return.

To live is to risk

dying.

To hope is to risk

despair.

To try is to risk

failure.

But, risk must be taken,

because

the greatest hazard in life

is to risk nothing.

The person who risks nothing,

does nothing,

has nothing and is nothing.

He may avoid suffering and sorrow, but he simply cannot

learn, feel, change, grow,

love….live.

Chained by his certitude’s,

he is a slave,

he has forfeited freedom.

Only a person who risks….is free.”

-“Risk” by Virginia Satir

4 responses to “A Gulp of Fresh Air…

  1. Love that poem, Muse (I had always heard it attributed to Leo Buscaglia…but ???) Thanks for checking in. I miss you and send you love.

    Hello Grace! A nice big hug for you this morning too. I hope your writing is going well…Thanks for the tip – got me thinking about the source so I did some extra digging. Turns out that alot of people get the author of this poem wrong (at least, according to the BBC anyway):

    http://www.castaway2000.org/oldboard/board/1324.html

    I stand corrected. Sorry Janet Rand (if you are indeed the author…If it’s Leo, again…I stand corrected).

    Lots of love sent your way Grace. xoxo

  2. Do we really live if we don’t do it fearlessly? I can’t imagine any other way.

    Well put Anthony. Couldn’t have said it better myself.

  3. Love the poem, and I agree that the seahorse is quite handsome. He reminds me of an old man tending a garden (hmmm, I don’t know where the garden vision came from but that’s what I saw in my head just now).

    Aw, thanks Karen. There is something rather neat about seahorses, don’t you think? I could imagine them serving cocktails at a Mermaid bar in little tuxedos. Whoa…I had better lay off of the chocolate. An old man tending a garden huh? Hmm…Have you read Candide lately? Lol! Thanks for your comments. Good to see you back after the weekend too (I’ll pop over to your site and say “hi”).

  4. Yes! He would work fabulously as a bartender – sooo sophisticated.

    (I’m having a terrible thought that the writer’s strike might affect our Lost addiction. Oh please, not that!)

Leave a Reply

