Canadian Giftshop

You really can’t get more Canadian than the Tragically Hip.  When you listen to their musical decadence, you can’t help but get enchanted with Gordon Downie’s surreal and poetic lyrics.  Gord’s mesmerising way of pulling you into his soul renders you along a soulful journey into the heart of a Canadian soul.  You can’t helped but get whisked away to that prairie sunset, or that perfectly secluded little spot along that rushing riverbank, as the moon rises over your campfire and winks at you from the distant horizon.  The Hip, as we loving refer to them, remind us of what it means to be human, let alone Canadian, and this band should be considered one of our country’s official national treasures.

As you might have guessed, The Tragically Hip IS my favourite Canadian rock band.  Gordon Downie is a true poet, the band members are amazing, and I am proud to say that I have seen these boys in concert three times.  The best concert venue that I ever had the privilege to hear them play at was “Another Roadside Attraction at an outdoor venue” in the East (at the base of a mountain no less!).  I can tirelessly play their music (old and new) and know that it will make me ponder, reflect upon and be thankful for my quintessential Canadian existence.  Oh, and if you weren’t born North of the 49th, that’s ok.  The Hip have a very loyal fan base in the States.  No surprise!

I hope that some of you find this song as moving as I do.  It is one of my favourites.

[This song is for you Sherry].

Gift Shop

The beautiful lull, the dangerous tug
We get to feel small from high up above
And after a glimpse over the top
The rest of the world becomes a gift shop

The pendulum swings for the horse like a man
Out over the rim is ice cream to him
The beautiful lull, the dangerous tug
we get to feel small but not out of place at all
We’re forced to bed but we’re free to dream
All us human extras, all us herded beings
And after a glimpse over the top
The rest of the world becomes a gift shop

I don’t know what to believe, sometimes I even forget
And if it’s a lie, terrorists made me say it
The beautiful lull, the dangerous tug
We get to feel small from high up above
From high up above

-The Tragically Hip

 

2 responses to “Canadian Giftshop

  1. I sent a link to that video a couple weeks ago to introduce them to The Hip. Such an amazing band. So much atmosphere in their music. Love em.

    Hi Rob. By default, I would have to agree with you. I fell in love with this band when I was in highschool and have been cruising that euphoric wave of bliss ever since. Thanks for stopping by today. Glad to see another Hip fan in the Blogging crowd!

    Long live The ‘Hip!

  2. Meant to write ‘to a friend’ after the word ‘video’ in my last post.

Leave a Reply

