Fish Cake Recipe

Yesterday was Astronomy and today, it’s Gastronomy (that program – Stellarium is “Stellar” too, by the way).  V (our resident Goddess in the Kitchen), this post is particularly for you.  Oh, V, if there is a logical place for me to leave recipes at your site, let me know please (I was thinking of popping it in your comments section, but wasn’t sure).  Perhaps, I can just email you recipes instead.  Anyway, I have a great recipe to share.  If you’d like, you can copy and paste this recipe over at your site, or back-track to it with a link.

Since I live nowhere near an ocean in real life, I have a hard time finding fresh seafood (and I love seafood…although shrimp itself tends to give me an allergic reaction).  However, when I travel, I am almost always near an ocean and love experimenting with seafood.  I LOVE crab-cakes in particular.  Do you ever just travel about eating the same things on occasion to find yourself rating the best food someplace? (kinda fun).  The best crab-cakes I have ever had the luxury of eating had to be in Seattle (some little pub in Pike Place Market).

The recipe I am going to give you uses salmon instead of crab.  I would try the crab if you have it (fresh…maybe frozen).  Otherwise the salmon in these salmon cakes is really good, despite being canned (I imagine that you could use fresh salmon too, but in that case, you would have to up the moisture content of the recipe by marinating the fish in light oil, water and perhaps adding more egg etc.).

Salmon Cakes

1-1/2 cups of Sockeye salmon (about 3 cans, drained)

2 tablespoons of finely minced onion

3 cloves of finely minced garlic

2 tablespoons melted butter

2 tablespoons milk

1 egg (beaten) for dipping

1/2 cup fine bread crumbs

1 tablespoon fresh herbs (parsley or chervil)

cornmeal or bread crumbs for dipping (ah, the “crust”) with seasoning (lemon pepper, bayou, cajun, or just salt and pepper)

~Drain the canned salmon, and remove all bones, skin and excess fat.  In a glass bowl, mash salmon with all remaining ingredients (except the last .

~Shape into uniform sized cakes.  Let cakes rest in fridge for about 20 minutes (covered).

~Batter each fish cake (egg, cornmeal or bread crumbs), and fry in olive oil until crispy and golden brown.

I like to serve these with a crispy salad.  Radicchio, endive and other bitters pair nicely with the fish.  A white balsamic vinaigrette or regular balsamic vinaigrette adds a little punch too.

If anyone gives this one a try, let me know what you think!

-PM

4 responses to “Fish Cake Recipe

  1. YAY! Thanks so much. I love salmon. I just bought a can last week, which is weird because I haven’t bought canned salmon in years. Now I know what I’ll do with it. BTW – Is there a white balsamic vinegar? Wow, I’ll have to check that out.

    Crabcakes are one of my favorites but it’s hard to get good crab in Missouri.

    You can leave recipes in my comment seciton or email mail me. troyvenus@yahoo.com

    I’m HUNGRY!

    Allo my Goddess of the Kitchen (GotK for short!)! White Balsamic, does indeed exist!

    http://www.stonehouseoliveoil.com/products/whitebalsamic.html

    A variety of different companies make it for various grocery stores too, and this is just one example. To me, white balsamic has less of an aged taste (alot like an “un-oaked” vintage). It’s great on veggies, salsas and dishes requiring a more subtle balsamic taste (plus, it is clear, so it’s a bit of a surprise to your palate when you nibble on something that tastes of balsamic but lacks that caramelized colour!). Oh, and here’s another thing about balsamic vinegar…Have you tried “Fig Balsamic” vinegar yet? It is absolutely fabulous! When mixed up with some olive oil and fresh herbs, it makes a great bread dipper!

    Let me know what you think about these vinegars when you try them V…I’d like to hear your opinion…and perhaps you might share some of your balsamic-y recipes with me.

    In future, I will leave recipes in your comments section or just email them to you – thanks!

    Bon Appetito!!!!!

    Now I am HUNGRY!!!!!

  2. Sounds mouth-watering to me ….

    🙂 Hi David!

  3. Mmmmmm!! Must . try . the . crab . version.
    Thanks!

    Hi Homer…I mean Red! I know…the crab version probably rocks the socks off the salmon. If you try this recipe with crab, please let me know how it turns out!

  4. Sadly, I’m too plain an eater to be seduced by recipes. But tell me, cod mashed up with chips. Does that count as fish cake? 🙂

    Let me think…Fish and starch…Yup! Sounds mighty tasty to me!!! [I love cod, btw]…;)

Leave a Reply

